study and new book

Study and a new book

A few weeks ago I applied for some Covid research on long covid symptoms as I still had some even though it has been five months since I had it. I got called today for one of them and will be getting my blood drawn tomorrow. I have been drinking a lot of fluid so my veins will be easy to find, I hope.

I spent the day sleeping as I was just so damn tired. We had thunderstorms this morning that scared the shit out of me. The thunder was so damn loud I thought a bomb went off. I had two cups of coffees back to back and I was still tired. I took a nap before the researcher called me. I took another nap after the researcher finished with the consent and setting up a time to get my blood drawn. I planned on shaving my head and face when I woke up and I did do that. I missed a spot on my face so I need to redo it later.

After I had dinner, I started reading “Medical Apartheid” by Harriet Washington. It is about how African Americans were used in medical experimentation since the times of slavery to the present. This is a grueling account of those events. I had read about how black women were used for gyn surgeries, often without anesthesia. Some of the women didn’t survive these surgeries and other atrocities such as rape.

It has been a very dark day with the thunderstorms. This morning was so dark I had to turn on the kitchen light to see. Rain was so heavy at times. I don’t ever remember a day being so dark before. After the rain it got light but by seven it was dark again.

depression continues

Depression continues

I had a rough night of weird dreams. I dreamt of my sister in law who just died a few weeks ago. She had been on my mind recently and I guess she manifested in my dreams. In the dream, we were supposed to be going home. I was driving but no matter what road I took it was a dead end. I kept driving around in circles trying to find the street that would take me home and I couldn’t find it. My med alarm went off so I took my meds and then used the bathroom. I had my coffee and still felt sleepy. I had a bowl of cereal and then went back to bed. I slept for a few hours, dream free. I woke up still feeling tired but a little better. My mood was still in the gutter.

My therapist texted me this morning asking if she could see me today rather than tomorrow. I said ok. We met and it went ok. She had her dog in her lap so I got to see him for a bit. He is cute. We talked about my bladder issues but she didn’t get it. She didn’t validate me or understand what I was going through. I felt more depressed about it as we spoke. We talked about writing and being consistent with it. I think I am doing that with my daily blog writing. It has helped me with my anxiety a lot. It only helps a little bit with the depression.

I was very tired after session. I tried taking another nap but couldn’t. I got really bad gas pains in my chest. I keep burping which has relieving some of the pain but my stomach feels icky. I am kind of hungry. I think I am just going to have a bowl of cereal for dinner. I don’t feel like cooking. I was able to brush my teeth this morning after I had my coffee. I need to shave my head and face but I am having trouble finding the energy to do it. I love the bald feel but it is a chore to shave every other day or so. I wanted to bring this up to my therapist but I felt like it would be vain of me.

My leg has flared up again. It has been hurting me most of the afternoon and now into the evening. I’ve been taking BT meds for it. It is almost time to take another dose. Also almost time to take my night meds. There is no game tonight so I plan on going to bed early. I haven’t read today so I might finish the chapter I was reading yesterday. I had to take a break from it because it upset me. This book has not been an easy read.

ADL Sunday

Saturday Blog 25092021

I had a rough night. I woke up around midnight to empty my bladder as it has been five hours since I last emptied it. I then had a difficult time trying to get back to sleep. My anxiety was starting to take over as my thoughts just kept on repeating on themselves. I took an Ativan but it just calmed me down and cleared my head. It didn’t make me sleepy. I colored for a bit and then I started writing in my journal. I guess I should have done that first as I wrote ¾ of a page and then I was sleepy enough to go back to bed around 0430.

I had just emptied my bladder about a half hour ago and then had a bowel movement which produced some urine. I don’t understand this. I also found out yesterday that I had residual urine after every void I had yesterday. I don’t know if there was residual after my bowel movement because I wasn’t in my bathroom and I didn’t think I needed a catheter. I am getting so frustrated that I sent a message to my urologist asking for some help or guidance about this. My urine is clear so I don’t think I have an infection. I also don’t know if this is just a post op thing that will get better in time. I am not a patient person when it comes to this stuff as it stresses me out.

I only have one appointment next week so if I have to go give a urine specimen I could. I think it will be negative however. I am not having any other symptom of infection other than the strong urges to go all the fricken time. Today is a little bit better and I have been mindful of the time I go so I am not guessing.

I just made another cup of coffee because I need it. While I was waiting for it to brew, my mother wanted me to make her a hamburger so I did. My sister made several banana breads so I had a piece of one. It was ok but very buttery. As I was coming up the stairs to my room, my sister told me a story of how she was trying to get information from Siri about something and the android kept telling her to Sukkot. LOL got to love AI.

Sox game is at 4 so I plan on reading my book for a couple of hours or chapters until then. Last night was an ugly loss. Nate didn’t have his stuff and the Skanks hit him hard. He gave up two homeruns. Not like him at all. Hope he isn’t hurt and isn’t telling someone.

I’m hungry but I don’t know what I want to eat. I kind of want Chipotle again. It was really good last night. I added corn salsa and it really kicked ass to the burrito bowl. But I want Kung Pao so I ordered from a new place. Hope it is good. I got the white rice with it. I didn’t feel like getting the fried rice.

Saturday Blog 25092021

Saturday Blog 25092021

I had a rough night. I woke up around midnight to empty my bladder as it has been five hours since I last emptied it. I then had a difficult time trying to get back to sleep. My anxiety was starting to take over as my thoughts just kept on repeating on themselves. I took an Ativan but it just calmed me down and cleared my head. It didn’t make me sleepy. I colored for a bit and then I started writing in my journal. I guess I should have done that first as I wrote ¾ of a page and then I was sleepy enough to go back to bed around 0430.

I had just emptied my bladder about a half hour ago and then had a bowel movement which produced some urine. I don’t understand this. I also found out yesterday that I had residual urine after every void I had yesterday. I don’t know if there was residual after my bowel movement because I wasn’t in my bathroom and I didn’t think I needed a catheter. I am getting so frustrated that I sent a message to my urologist asking for some help or guidance about this. My urine is clear so I don’t think I have an infection. I also don’t know if this is just a post op thing that will get better in time. I am not a patient person when it comes to this stuff as it stresses me out.

I only have one appointment next week so if I have to go give a urine specimen I could. I think it will be negative however. I am not having any other symptom of infection other than the strong urges to go all the fricken time. Today is a little bit better and I have been mindful of the time I go so I am not guessing.

I just made another cup of coffee because I need it. While I was waiting for it to brew, my mother wanted me to make her a hamburger so I did. My sister made several banana breads so I had a piece of one. It was ok but very buttery. As I was coming up the stairs to my room, my sister told me a story of how she was trying to get information from Siri about something and the android kept telling her to Sukkot. LOL got to love AI.

Sox game is at 4 so I plan on reading my book for a couple of hours or chapters until then. Last night was an ugly loss. Nate didn’t have his stuff and the Skanks hit him hard. He gave up two homeruns. Not like him at all. Hope he isn’t hurt and isn’t telling someone.

I’m hungry but I don’t know what I want to eat. I kind of want Chipotle again. It was really good last night. I added corn salsa and it really kicked ass to the burrito bowl. But I want Kung Pao so I ordered from a new place. Hope it is good. I got the white rice with it. I didn’t feel like getting the fried rice.